DISCUSSION

Quality of life improvements to running modbros in a standard raspbian distro

2 people are following

Warning up front: I'm extremely new to raspberry pi's and linux, so a lot of this was put together somewhat haphazardly.  I'm doing my best to remember the parts that went into it.

One of the first things I did with my pi was copy a set up for a gif player to run in a chromium kiosk window (https://learn.adafruit.com/raspi-animated-gif-picture-frame?view=all)*.  So then I realized if I could get modbros to run the same way in the browser then once everything was installed in my PC I could switch between modbros and gifs with VNC whenever I wanted!  For me I found the correct autostart file to work with at /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE-pi/autostart and created my little newbie scripts in /home/pi/Documents/Scripts/

*this link is super duper old and was like, 60% not applicable anymore.  but the html + js file that does the heavy lifting worked fine and I eventually hacked it into life!

First little thing that plagued me was the mouse cursor kept showing in the middle of my screen.  Found the program “unclutter” (sudo apt-get install unclutter) and added a line for it to my autostart file “@unclutter -idle 5”, which makes the pointer disappear after 5 seconds of no input.  

Originally I also added the following line to open modbros automatically too: “@chromium-browser --kiosk http://192.168.0.13:42100/?uuid=pi1&name=RaspberryPi”, where 192.168.0.13 is the address of my desktop.  However, I started noticing that my connection would freeze after extended use, requiring me to either open+close the configuration pane on my desktop or refresh the browser on my pi.  Preferring an automated solution, I spent way longer than it should have taken to figure out a basic script to refresh my browser every hour on my pi:

#!/bin/bash

chromium-browser --kiosk http://192.168.0.13:42100/?uuid=pi1&name=RaspberryPi

counter=0

while pgrep "chromium" >/dev/null
do