DISCUSSION

Using a Pimoroni HyperPixel 4.0 Screen?

2 people are following

Hey Everyone,

I'm new here and trying to setup my first MoBro using a Pi3 B+ and a Pimoroni HyperPixel 4.0 display. I cant seem to get the display to function through the Setup Wizard so I'm wondering if there's extra steps I'm missing? I've tried the whole list for the correct number of pixels (800x480) but i can not get it to display. Using HDMI works fine and the monito looks great, but i need it to be on the 4inch display as its going to be built into the case. 

Please can someone offer some insight, TIA

Replies 1 - 10 (10)

Hi @Winteriscoming18 

the required driver for the HyperPixel screen is not yet included on our image, so you can't install it from the configuration wizard

you will have to install the required driver manually as described on the store page here under ‘Software’
basically you just have to run:

curl https://get.pimoroni.com/hyperpixel4 | bash

Thanks for the info. I'm new to the Pi also so I'm a little confused. Can I open a terminal directly on the Mobro installation or will I have to install Raspbian, install the driver then swap the SD cards?? I didn't think the Pi could store any files without the SD card so Im unsure of how to proceed. Will I have to dual boot? If so that fails my project entirely as I don't want to have to open my PC case every time I want to load the hardware monitor 

Would you guys be able to add the drivers to your repository? I feel that it would be a boom to your company to do so. These screens are superior quality, the colors are brilloant and 60fps too! 

As a side note, I have downloaded the driver file to my PC. Is there a location on the SD card that I can place it or does it have to be installed via terminal? 

Our custom image is basically just Raspian, but pre-configured by us and everything that's required for MoBro already installed