REPORT AN ISSUE

Adafruit PiTFT display set up issues for a novice

4 people are following

I am a novice and have never done anything with a Raspberry Pi or Linux before.  I bought a Raspberry Pi 3 A+ and an Adafruit PiTFT Plus 2.8” 320x240 display that has no HDMI port and connect via GPIO.  Everything worked fine via HDMI to a TV but I had some issues getting the display up and running.

I followed the easy install instructions on Adafruits excellent website https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-pitft-28-inch-resistive-touchscreen-display-raspberry-pi/easy-install-2, which can all be done via ssh from a PC. I got as far as specifying the screen (option 1 in the first step of the process for this screen) and the rotation, but it then stopped the install.    The issue is that a standard install of Rasbain creates a directory /home/”p”i which your image does not have.  The install needs this directory to be in existence for it to work. 

The Easy fix (now that I have worked it out) is to create the required “pi” directory before following the instructions on the Adafruit website.  I used the following commands via ssh:

cd ~

cd /home

sudo mkdir pi

cd ~

After that I just followed the instruction to mirror the HDMI output (say no to “Would you like the console to appear on the PiTFT display ?”, and yes to “Would you like the HDMI display to mirror to the PiTFT display?”

I love what you guys are doing.   I have just had a few frustrating but ultimately rewarding hours on a Sunday afternoon getting this all to work.  I love that I learned a little about Linux and now cannot wait to get a window for my little status monitor cut into the custom Parvum case that I am having made for my next PC build. 

Replies 1 - 7 (7)

Just had the same problem, was hoping 1 pre-installed drivers would work,  and finally followed adafruot way doing it few reboots later started to work!